Smog head

As winter approaches, Beijing has seemingly disappeared (yet again) under a thick layer of smog. Nothing new, though we had been pretty lucky for most of the summer. With the smog brings the familiar aches and pains in my chest, shoulders and body, sleeplessness (at night), not wanting to leave the house (or even look out the window), and the desire to sleep forever (aka. all day long). I wanted to call in sick today with ‘smog head’ because that’s truly how I feel. When the pollution pours in, your brain cells seem to pour out. I don’t feel completely with it, and I definitely don’t feel in a controlled state of mind. It’s almost like a really bad hangover that won’t quit. The routine of riding my bike to work turns into an impossible task simply avoided due to the hazards involved (and I’m not talking about the craziness that is Beijing’s streets).

Every few months, when the pollution rolls in for a couple days (or weeks) at a time, I’m usually moodier than normal, find myself crying for no particular reason, and a super recluse. Yesterday I found myself in the moodiest of moods, fuming angry for no real reason at all. After some inner reflection (and a bottle of Shiraz), I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s this mother fucking pollution getting me down.

All I wanna do is be able to see the sun and take in gulps of the fresh air.

Is that too much to ask China?

Today’s AQI (Air Quality Index:) Hazardous
(301-500)

Serious aggravation of heart or lung disease and premature mortality in persons with cardiopulmonary disease and the elderly; serious risk of respiratory effects in general population. Everyone should avoid all physical activity outdoors; people with heart or lung disease, older adults, and children should remain indoors and keep activity levels low.

Leave a comment